Take This Job And Gently Place It Elsewhere

Something seemed fishy all along.
Click comic to enlarge.

So, this great story turns out to be nothing but a hoax. I for one was greatly disappointed by that news. There are still some great job-quitting stories out there, though. Here is a collection of a few.

While that news was a big disappointment to me, I did receive some news that makes me not even care about that anymore. I learned to day that Borderlands is going to new DLC released in September. If you’ve never played Borderlands, which available for Xbox 360, PS3 and PC, you are really missing out. It’s a great game, especially for co-op play. You can get three of your friends and have a blast. This will be the fourth DLC for the game and I can’t imagine it being anything less than awesome. Here are details on the new add-on.

Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter (twitter.com/guysonacouch) and be a Fan of the Guys on a Couch Facebook page.

About guysonacouch

I just wanted to make a webcomic.
This entry was posted in Comics and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to Take This Job And Gently Place It Elsewhere

  1. lostbutf0und says:

    What what what? A hoax? Nooooooooooooooooooooooo! I loved that story!

  2. shoutabyss says:

    Great comic! I was also disappointed the “whiteboard quitting” story was a hoax, which I’m proud to say I suspected after I saw it. It would have been epic.

  3. Raul says:

    Too bad that story was a hoax…that’s really disappointing! However, like shoutabyss, I suspected it was fake when I was looking at it. Oh well, I guess we have to wait for a better, real, quitting story.

    http://www.wutevs.wordpress.com

  4. bmj2k says:

    Of course it was a hoax.

  5. That is the worst news I’ve heard all day! It made me so happy to see that post!

    But good news on Borderlands DLC…loooove that game…thanks for the update!

  6. A says:

    I wasn’t impressed with the original story. I had a feeling it was a hoax but if it turned out to be real, that lady sure would’ve been short-sighted lol.

  7. I’m pretty annoyed that it was a hoax. I hope she doesn’t get any acting jobs. Hahaha.
    http://www.denwrites.com

  8. Jennifer says:

    You are just awesome. : )
    I think I might talk Ronnie into buying Borderlands. : ) : )

  9. CrystalSpins says:

    Yes boys…if you are going to play videogames don’t just play with yourselves, play with one another!

    Crystal
    http://www.crystalspins.com

  10. Isn’t “the chive” some spin-off of “the onion” (is that website still up and running). I remember it being like a parody news website. When I saw “the chive” I just assumed it was an evolution of that website. Either way, I still love the sentiment… If you’re gonna go out, go out with a bang.

  11. I find it interesting that some of the best stories tend to be hoaxes. Hildago, Jane Fonda saying “Do You Know Who I am” in a western steakhouse.

  12. Pingback: Take This Job And Gently Place It Elsewhere (via Guys on a Couch) « Project Rolling Freedom!

  13. Well, even if it was a hoax, it was a really great idea! Congrats on being Freshly Pressed!

  14. sayitinasong says:

    I like your comic!! Will check out your FB and twitter!

  15. gringation says:

    VERY sad it was a hoax 😦 That pretty much explains my boss, and I was hoping it wasn’t just me haha

  16. More disappointing, I saw it on Freshly Pressed this morning.

    Shouldn’t WordPress be promoting like ACTUAL writers?

    http://paulbeforeswine.wordpress.com/

  17. liopito says:

    it was a hoax!!!me and my friend laughed for hours over that!!!! well i got to say im not really surprised…

    http://lemonnlime.wordpress.com

  18. Robert Bain says:

    Very entertaining regardless. I’m surprised the Iphone doesn’t have an app that will quit for us in some fantastically unique way.

  19. Lindsay says:

    I think it was pretty obvious it was a hoax from the get-go. Creative and funny, but not something some assistant would do if she was looking for a better job.

    http://www.thedailyawe.com

  20. I would like to go out like that air steward who worked for Jet Blue. Well minus the a** fu**ing the boyfriend afterward. 😉

  21. A hoax huh. Doesn’t surprise me in the least. Could be more annoying, like the airline guy.

  22. Joy Corcoran says:

    Well, it looks more like a fantasy than a hoax to me and pretty funny. If she is an “assistant” now, she’ll be boss soon! Very inspiring — what if we didn’t worry about our next job and just said what we needed to say. She could always become a professional blogger!

  23. natinanorton says:

    Congrats on Freshly Pressed!

    I’m not surprised it was a hoax, but the reasons sited for wanting to quit are all too familiar. My last boss apparently had a “full-time” job (i.e. when she decided to come into work) talking to her sister on the phone and shopping and watching videos online.

    Natina

    http://humansareassholes.wordpress.com/

  24. cixass says:

    congratulations acquainted awaited return visit

  25. Pingback: Tweets that mention Take This Job And Gently Place It Elsewhere | Guys on a Couch -- Topsy.com

  26. Jung says:

    Coming in via Freshly Pressed. Liked the comic–especially the concept!

  27. jdschaefer says:

    Great link to stories about quitting. And we wish that Farmville girl story had been real, too. For those of you without either the motivation or creativity to pull off quitting, http://ineedapeptalk.wordpress.com/category/work-2/ is here to get you through your day.

    And if you just have to put it all out there…. http://ineedapeptalk.wordpress.com/venting/directed_rage/
    so go on! Have at it!

  28. Kat says:

    Oh well, at least there’s the story of the flight attendant who quit and slid down the emergency chute on the news today. That’s also a pretty cool way to quit.

  29. haltseven says:

    Even when people thought the Farmville girl’s story was real, it didn’t hold a candle to Steven Slater’s epic “(a href=”http://deconstructingsanta.wordpress.com/2010/08/10/steven-slater-is-a-special-kind-of-hero/”>10.0 swan dive of a career exit strategy.” Thanks for the link to other worthy contenders in the “best ways to quit a job” category!

  30. haltseven says:

    Ah snap. Was trying to link to this, which I thought was funny. Gotta have the parenthesis key looked at… 🙂

    http://deconstructingsanta.wordpress.com/2010/08/10/steven-slater-is-a-special-kind-of-hero

    The ballad is the best!

  31. Can’t believe how many people are disappointed to find out that this was fake. And a LOT responded just like your comic!

    Goes to show how many readers identified with the girl! The whole thing boosted her followers to well over 1,500.

  32. Pingback: Mario on My Mind « Biodork

  33. marcia says:

    My website with wordpress is MARIAMORTA…

  34. sociosound says:

    DAMNIT! I loved that! damnit damnit damnit. I had hope for the world when that was printed the other day.

    Sigh.

    Congrats on being freshly pressed. Thanks for keeping us updated!

    http://sociosound.wordpress.com

  35. At least it made me smile… I don’t care if it was a hoax or not. All I care about today is that I love olives. http://www.sunshinediary.wordpress.com

  36. Pingback: How I Knew It Was A Hoax « Paul Before Swine

  37. Pingback: Take This Job And Gently Place It Elsewhere (via Guys on a Couch) « isn't it a wonder?

  38. thebigshowatud says:

    hoax or not, it was still well-done. the Jet Blue flight attendant guy is NOT a hoax, and that’s a better story, anyhow.

  39. sarahnsh says:

    I love the comic, and I’m not too surprised to hear that it’s a hoax. Congrats on being Freshly Pressed!

  40. Sima Langen says:

    Seen your blog via yahoo the other day and absolutely adore it. Carry on the good work.

Leave a Reply

