(Scott) Pilgrim’s Progress

It took these guys to crack the formula?Click comic to enlarge.

I don’t think there is any doubt that when a comic or graphic novel (or any book, for that matter) is turned into a movie, the source material will gather a new group of readers. I don’t think it matters how popular the book already was. I can see long-time fans getting upset with the influx of bandwagon readers, but I really don’t see it being a problem.

After I watched Kick-Ass a couple weeks ago, I found and read the comic. It was great. Although I haven’t seen the movie yet, I’ve started reading the Scott Pilgrim graphic novels and am loving them. I’m really looking forward to seeing the movie too, but as I’ve stated before, with kids, I’ll probably have to wait for DVD.

I don’t think it matters how people get to the original material. I’m even going to go so far as to say I don’t think it matters if they like the original material better than the cinematic interpretation. (I do think those cases will be few and far between, though.)

There have been some great comic-based movies the past few years (V for Vendetta, Sin City, 300 and Watchmen, just to name a few) Do yourself a favor, if you liked the movies grab the book. Even if you didn’t like the movie, don’t let that stop you.

In preparation for next month’s DLC release, some friends and I fired up Borderlands last night. We played through one of Mad Moxxi’s big tournaments (achievement unlocked, by the way). It was a blast. I’d forgotten how much fun that game was. Can’t wait for the new DLC.

So last week was pretty wild for me, from a blog perspective. Wednesday, I was Freshly Pressed. I don’t know what caused it to happen, but it basically made my mind explode watching the views jump throughout the day. To put it in perspective, I had a total of 151 views from the start of my blog/comic (July 13) until last Tuesday (Aug. 10). Since then, I’ve had literally thousands of views and I appreciate every one of them. While I came away from it with an overinflated since of worth, I also hope I garnished a few new regular readers. As the daily views continues its downward trend back to near obscurity. I’ll always remember those few crazy days (mostly due to the massive spike on the stat chart), but I hope you guys (if you enjoy what you see) will help me draw in new fans and readers.

If you use Facebook and/or Twitter, please follow me or become a fan using the links on the right.

Again, thanks to everyone. While I don’t do this to try and build any kind of popularity, fame or notoriety, I really do appreciate those who take the time to mull through my often random thoughts.

About guysonacouch

I just wanted to make a webcomic.
This entry was posted in Comics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

